show & tell

Tools of the trade .. of a cake / cookie decorator .. that is. These tools help the decorator roll, shape, mold fondant into the most beautiful of flowers or whatever the client imagines.   Fondant in the US of A or otherwise known as sugar paste is a beautifully pliable sugar dough used for many many years all over the world.  But for this Granny’s House, it is a very new endeavor.

 

iphone photos 2016 to spring 2017 815

There is so much to learn and yet there are those who make it look so easy.  This photo shows the beginning of my tool box.  Let me tell you the back story, we have six children who have grown up to be lovely men and women!  And, as children do, have met the love of their life and 3 of them are now married with another upcoming wedding in August.  To my delight, I have been privileged to make 2 of the 3 wedding cakes. The cake itself was simple; it was the beautifying of said cake that became my project.  We love to do things for our children, don’t we, and as a result of taking on the challenge, I have grown in my baking skills.

In my youth, I decorated birthday cakes for  my siblings and later for our children using the canned frosting from our local grocery store.  I know, I know!  But that was all I did know about decorating cakes. My mom made cakes and baked all the time, but I don’t recall her decorating cakes.  It makes me smile (a scrunched-up nose type of smile) when I think of how far I’ve come.

AF43BDB5-6E34-4715-87F5-0651B140FFAF

Forgive the poor quality photo ..  our oldest daughter’s first birthday .. she’s now 25. If you can see, it has gel piped lettering and an outline of a little bunny.  She loved bunnies then and still does.

AA726CFF-24D6-486C-9BD5-8B08B7E6434D

This blurry photo shows another store-bought gel icing piped Sherlock Holmes cake for my little brother’s 17th birthday.  Oh, how he loved to read Sherlock Holmes books.  And I was so proud of that cake .. my little brother is now 41 .. my how time flies.

 

If I can learn, then YOU can too!  Patience? sure it takes patience . . for me it was a project that was well worth the time and effort.

fondant flowers and leaves 042017

The fondant/sugar paste flowers were so much fun to make once I got the hang of it.  The first flowers I did were a DISASTER! I nearly threw the project away…yes, I was that discouraged.  I’m not a perfectionist, I like my projects to have a bit of character; but sad looking bunches of sugar dough was not my idea of character.

So I settled down and worked on the type of flowers I could handle.  I most assuredly have plenty of room to grow!

iphone photos 2016 to spring 2017 886

My sweet daughter-in-law to be was helping pipe the finishing touches on my daughter’s wedding cake who wanted a giant heart cake.  Giant!  It was three layers and measured approximately 25″ across.  Here’s the link from Pinterest that helped me with creating the heart shape  (More on this story here)

A757EB74-6712-4093-B268-D1167076D362

Flowers are improving .. the cake was delicious .. and my goal is to have accomplished this rose soon.  Amazingly beautiful work by the British bakery Pretty Sugar Cake Company

IMG_0488

yes, this stunning rose is made of sugar paste!

 

Do you have a cake story?  I’d love to hear about it!!  Share your story in the comment section below.

I’ll add my fondant recipe shortly.

 

you deserve some sweetness today,

~Cristina

 

Leave a comment